Over 20,000!

I just posted my current word count on NaNoWriMo.org: 20,108 – I’m almost at the halfway point, and I’m feeling a bit beat…  Yesterday, my sinusitis won and I failed to write a single word – which was highly disappointing because I’ve been averaging around 3000 words a night; 1000 more words than my personal goal of 2000 words a night, and much better than the 1667 words recommended by NaNoWriMo.  I’m having a bit of a tough go pulling the story out of the backgrounding stage and into the actual meat-and-potatoes of the plot I have in mind.  I’m navigating the characters a bit better now; I had a bit of trouble in the early parts of the story, and I had to walk them around a bit to get comfortable with their voices.  The other thing that I’m noticing is that the layout is very episodic; which in and of itself is not a bad thing, but it makes for some rhythmically stilted prose… just one of those things I’ll have to fix in the revision stage.

29,892 words to go…

Leave a Reply

