Forgiveness, Please!

So, yeah… I totally blew off the blog… and other social networking outlets as well, for that matter…  Why?

Well, to be perfectly honest, I got tired of my own “voice.”  Strange?  Sure, but then I exist on the very cusp of this whole reality phenomenon, so it shouldn’t come as too much of a shock to anyone who knows me… physically or virtually.  I got caught up reading: after the last couple of posts where I went off on the idea of reading as a way to improve ones own writing skills, I picked up a few good books and went to town… I mean, I read the shit out of these books.

It started with James S. A. Corey’s Leviathan Wakes which pushed me immediately into the sequel, Caliban’s War (Note: I seldom read books in a series one right after the other… mayhaps I should have chosen the word, “rarely,” because for me to do this is miraculous at the very least); I was already well into M. L. N. Hanover’s Unclean Spirits, and I polished that one off too while I was at it*; then, because Patrick Rothfuss recommended it on his blog, I read Tad Williams’ The Dirty Streets of Heaven; then, because John Scalzi recommended it on his blog, I began reading Jim Hines’s Libriomancer; also, I’d been sitting on a copy of Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden’s Baltimore: The Curse Bells and the first three volumes of Jeff Smith’s RASL, so I went ahead and read those too while I was at it!  I went on a reading frenzy because I didn’t do a whole lot of reading while I was writing the book… I was hungry, obviously; very hungry… and my previous blog posts only served to remind me that as much as I am a writer, I’m still primarily a reader.

I read, and I posted on Goodreads; which lead to this:

 

Geek boy *Squee!!!*

Meaningless, I know… but those words are just magic to my nerd eyes…  Heh!

Anyway… Look at this shit, it’s Saturday… Saturday… Friday is blog day… I’m so totally off my schedule, but I had to do it.  I have done a bit of writing along the way, I started a new novel which I told myself I wasn’t going to do because I have NaNoWriMo coming up and that’s going to make things a bit of a whirlwind for me come November, but mostly I’ve been reading like mad and I’m damn proud of it.

Next week, it’s back on schedule… I promise… I have to because September is over, October is starting and I have just that one month to finalize the outline for my NaNoWriMo novel for this year and to finish up the edits on the novel I just completed… I’ve lagged on that too, and that’s just not cool.  Shame on me…

In the mean time allow me to recommend some nice beers to complement your reading: Newcastle’s Werewolf ale is a nice limited edition fall brew with just a touch of red fruit in it as a reminder of the summer that’s waning; Deschute’s Black Butte Porter, for those of you who like a big, malty beer, this is one of the best porters I’ve had in recent times; and Brooklyn Pennant Ale, the taste of summer all year long — this is a great beer for the backyard BBQ.  I just picked up some new beers, and I’m going to have to have a beer-ing some time soon; like writing and reading, beer is one of those passions of which I just can never seem to get enough.  Waiting in the wings I have: New Belgium’s Red Hoptober, Santa Fe Brewing Co.’s Nut Brown Ale, Sierra Nevada’s Tumbr Brown Ale, Brooklyn’s Octoberfest, and Rahr & Sons’ Ugly Pug Black Lager… plus an assortment of others I put together in a mix ‘n match.

Cheers!

* James S. A. Corey and M. L. N. Hanover are both pen names for Daniel Abraham (the Corey name he uses in his association with Ty Franck, George R. R. Martin’s assistant).  I note this only because if something (Gods forbid) should happen to Martin before he completes his A Song of Ice and Fire series, my money’s on Abraham to complete the series for him.  That is all…

Next week: Technology!

Leave a Reply

