NaNoWriMo 2013, Day 13; or Temptation Abounds…

Temptation abounds… This is the middle of week 2 of NaNoWriMo; that notorious week when the honeymoon buzz of week 1 wears off and now you’re thinking, “What the fuck have I done?!”  Temptation abounds: the video games I have on my PC all of a sudden want desperately to be played; I just received my copy of Murder in Balder’s Gate (a D&D supplement for Forgotten Realms: The Sundering, or the reshaping of the Forgotten Realms in preparation for D&D 5E); I’m missing Adventure Time; I’m missing reading; I’m missing drinking beer (although I’ve consumed more beer this year than in years past; I usually try to stay dry during NaNoWriMo, so my head stays clear and I don’t start babbling like a drunken fool… Heh!); I’m missing playing D&D (I put my campaign on hiatus through the holidays because it’s had to meet and play during the holidays… duh!)…

I got out and had fun with my wife for our anniversary, and we had a very nice cook out for Veteran’s Day; but the corner stone for the month of November, despite anniversary and Thanksgiving, has been (for the last two years) and will continue to be NaNoWriMo.  Some people climb a mountain, some people run a marathon, some people skip shaving (I do that too, but not because it’s #NoShaveNovember or #Movember; mine is my annual NaNoWriMo #StoryBeard); some people skip bathing (eww…); but I write a novel… me and 298, 388 others… no shit; that’s the official sign up for NaNoWriMo 2013.  To those other almost 300K would-be novelists I say, “Temptations be damned!  Let’s write a fucking novel!”  Woo!

You can help make the magic happen by sponsoring me or any of the other NaNoWriMo participants soliciting donations.  Visit my donation site, aptly named: The Money’s Not for Me… It’s for Future Writers, and make with the cheddar.  Don’t be a stingy monkey… C’mon… you know I’m looking at YOU… 🙂

Cheers!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2013, Day 13; or Temptation Abounds…

Leave a Reply

