NaNoWriMo 2013, Day 15; or Mid November Noveling

Today is the 15th of November; the chronological dividing line between the two hemispheres of the month.  The first hemisphere was the ride up, and here on the 15th we’ve crested and the latter hemisphere is the tumble down.  This also, in a less calendar-ly gestalt concept, means that half of the NaNoWriMo 2013 challenge is gone at midnight.  Tomorrow, we Wrimos will be on the other side of the month with fifteen days of frenzied writing behind us and, hopefully, at least 25K of the requisite 50K word count.  I, for one, am glad week 2 is almost over; even if it wasn’t the formidable ogre it was last year.  I was able to quell my yearnings and kept to writing, despite the fact that I just picked up a copy of J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst’s S., and I have a six pack of Firestone Walker seasonal edition Velvet Merlin oatmeal stout in the house… temptation still abounds.  The desire to just completely fuck off it there, but it’s a runt of an impulse and easy to manage.

I neglected to mention in previous entries that I did something for myself last week which may have been the most merciful thing I’ve done for me in a while: I invested in a new keyboard.  For the first week of NaNoWriMo, I was going to bed with some nagging wrist discomfort.  I do have a mild bout of carpal tunnel syndrome, although it’s not anywhere near as vicious as what is suffered by some of the folks I know who have the full blown version.  I don’t require therapy or surgery, I just have to make sure I take frequent breaks and stretch sufficiently to keep the aches away.  Anyhow, it’s the other thing that affects my hands that prompted the purchase of the new keyboard: I have early stage rheumatoid arthritis in my hands.  Bullshit, right?  Right.  Thus, I invested in this monster:

click to enlarge
click to enlarge

It may look like a bit much next to the laptop, but believe me: it’s been a really jewel.  My wrists haven’t hurt as much thanks to that wide, padded bumper; and the keys are far more responsive and merciful on my fingers than the ones on my previous keyboard (which was a nice keyboard, by the way, but not ergonomically considerate).  It’s a Logitech Wave, and I picked it up as a combo at Office Depot (model mk550) with its accompanying wireless mouse which is also far more comfortable to use than my old mouse (I can’t wait to try it out with some video games).  Despite the fact that the keyboard is easier on my hands and wrists, I don’t write for longer periods on it — I still take frequent breaks and write in 30 minute sprints — I just find that the 3o minute sprints are more productive because I don’t have to stop as often to rub my wrists or lift my fingers off the keys as often.

Okay, it’s time to rock.  I have to go write now.  Don’t forget to support NaNoWriMo, the Office of Letters & Light, and creatives everywhere.  You can still make donations on my sponsorship page: http://www.stayclassy.org/fundraise?fcid=275053  I know times are tough, and that November isn’t a good time to ask people for money (shit, I have tons of gifts to buy too), but it’s for a worthy cause.  And if you spent yourself dry helping the folks out in the Philippines, I understand: that’s real life tragedy and they really NEED every last penny they can get.  Good Karma either way.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

