NaNoWriMo 2013… Officially done

The novel word count validation feature went live on the NaNoWriMo website today and I submitted the text of my manuscript.  Here’s what I got in return:

click to enlarge
click to enlarge

The embedded YouTube video you see in the screen capture is very cute — it’s the OLL staff cheering your accomplishment, and it’s nice that they do that because it makes you feel… you know… all warm and fuzzy, and shit.

I started this November with some severe doubts; I’d been such a lazy butthead all 2013 that I was sure I wouldn’t be able to complete the challenge this year.  I’m very happy to have proven myself wrong.  There’s still work to be done.  The novel has a definite beginning, a “sort-a” middle, and a definite end (which is still under wraps and not shared with the test readers): it’s like a sandwich with two pieces of bread, meat, and cheese but still lacking the dressing, veggies, and condiments which make it truly tasty… I’m out to make this one truly tasty.    That’s work for next week…

This is Thanksgiving week and it’s time to relax, spend time with the family, eat an inadvisable quantity of food, drink an inadvisable quantity of liquor and beer, and just enjoy the holiday.  I want to say, “thank you,” to my family and friends for supporting me and putting up with my cantankerous NaNoWriMo moods; I especially want to thank the folks I drafted to read this manuscript as I wrote: Dolores, Mike, Michelle, Servando, and Tricia; you all are very special beings I hope are blessed with infinite good Karma!  I also want to thank the handful of people who read the blog postings, followed the blog, liked the posts, and just generally did the social networking interaction thing.  You all added fuel to the fire, and I am grateful for that.

The celebration bottle of choice: Brewery Ommegang’s Take the Black stout (inspired by Game of Thrones); an epic beer for an epic fantasy.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013… Officially done

Leave a Reply

